Congratulations to the Winners of the Inaugural Economic Research and Communication Contest! Posted on May 23rd, 2023 by

We are thrilled to announce the winners of the Economic Research and Communication Contest, which garnered exceptional submissions from our talented students. The level of scholarship and dedication displayed by our participants was truly impressive, making the selection process quite challenging. Without further ado, let’s unveil the deserving winners!

Economic Research Category Winner: Ben Forsberg
In the research category, we are proud to congratulate Ben Forsberg for his outstanding paper titled “The Impact of the Brexit Referendum on Financial Markets: A Synthetic Control Method Analysis.” Ben’s exceptional research skills and in-depth analysis shed light on the complex interplay between the Brexit referendum and financial markets. We commend Ben for his diligent work, which he carried out during his Independent Study, supervised by Professor Paul Estenson.

Economic Communication Category Winners: Leah Keil, Mya Hillerud, Amber Krahn, & Mya Lear
In the communication category, we are delighted to announce a winning team that truly excelled in their collective efforts. Congratulations to Leah Keil, Mya Hillerud, Amber Krahn, and Mya Lear for their exceptional joint paper titled “Asian Financial Crisis Of 1997.” This insightful piece tackled the significant events surrounding the Asian financial crisis, demonstrating their aptitude for effective economic communication. Professor Shu-Ling Wang guided the team’s efforts in Money and Banking.

Each winner in their respective category will receive a well-deserved prize of $500 in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

We want to express our gratitude to the Schnell Family for their generous donation, which established the Schnell Family Chair in Econ-Capital Systems. Their support has made this contest possible and allows us to foster and celebrate undergraduate scholarship in economics.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to Ben Forsberg and the team of Leah Keil, Mya Hillerud, Amber Krahn, and Mya Lear for their outstanding achievements in their respective categories. Their remarkable papers exemplify the intellectual rigor and critical thinking skills fostered within our Economics and Management Department. These winners will have the opportunity to submit their entries to external contests, further showcasing their remarkable scholarship. 

Once again, congratulations to our winners, and a heartfelt thank you to all participants for their remarkable contributions. Your dedication to advancing economic scholarship is commendable, and we are proud to have you as part of our Gustavus Adolphus College community.

Keep up the excellent work, and may your future endeavors be equally fruitful and impactful!


Comments are closed.